FEMS Executive Committee

President (2018 - 2019)

Prof. Paloma Fernández Sánchez
Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Vice-President (2018 - 2019)


Prof. Eric Le Bourhis
Institut P’, Futuroscope, France

Immediate Past President (2018 - 2019)


Dr. Brett Suddell
Managing Director, Biobased Solutions Ltd, Swansea, UK


Dr. ir. Frans Vos
KU Leuven, Belgium and Materials Consult, Belgium

Executive Secretary


Communications Manager

Efi Fragkou
The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, London, United Kingdom

Dr Hugh Dunlop
Former R&D manager, Constellium


Executive Officers

Prof. Paula Vilarinho
Leader Electroceramics Group, University of Aveiro, Portugal


Prof. Aldo R. Boccaccini
Head, Institute of Biomaterials, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany


Prof. Rodrigo Moreno
Spanish National Research Council, Madrid


Prof. Gian Luca Garagnani
Engineering Department, University of Ferrara, Italy


Prof. Sten Johansson
Department of Management and Engineering, division of engineering materials, Linköping University, Sweden


Dr. Jana Horniková
Institute of Solid Mechanics, Mechatronics and Biomechanics
Brno University of Technology, Brno, Czech Republic


Dr. Anna Zervaki
Laboratory of Materials, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Thessaly, Greece


Dr. Bernard Rickinson CEng FIMMM
The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, London, United Kingdom


Prof. Dariusz Kata
AGH University of Science and Technology, Cracow, Poland


Dr. Csaba Balázsi
Centre for Energy Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary

FEMS, the Federation of European Materials Societies, is a non-profit European federation created in accordance with the Belgian law of 25 October 1919, with its legal headquarters at Malendriesstraat 70, 3370 Boutersem, Belgium