FEMS European Materials Gold Medal

For outstanding contribution to the field of Materials Science and Engineering at an advanced career stage.

The most prestigious FEMS award is presented to an active materials scientist or engineer, member of a FEMS Member Society at a mid- or advanced career stage, for outstanding contribution to Materials Science and Engineering.
Successful nominees should have conducted the majority of their research work in a European-based university, institute or company.
The winner is expected to give a plenary lecture at the next FEMS EUROMAT conference and to publish in the European Journal of Materials.


Nominations are accepted from FEMS Member Societies only and must include the following:
- Citation (100 words max)
- Three letters of recommendation (at least two outside the nominee's organisation)
- Nominee's CV
- Nominee's list of publications (including a list of independent citations)
- Nominee's list of invited lectures


The award is open to FEMS Member Society members and on-members.

Judging Panel

Nomination for the award are judged by the FEMS Awards Selection Committee and ratified by the FEMS Board.


Available on odd years only.


The winner will receive a medal and a fee waiver to attend FEMS EUROMAT and also featured in an interview on the FEMS website.

FEMS Awards - Past recipients