FEMS Materials Science and Technology Prize

The FEMS Materials Science and Technology prize is awarded to young European materials scientists or engineers in recognition of a significant contribution to a field of Materials Science and Engineering. The prize consists of a certificate and a voucher for books and journals from the highly-regarded Taylor and Francis publications.


2019 Prof. Rubén Darío Costa, Madrid, E
2017 Prof. Andrés-Fabián Lasagni, Dresden, D
2015 Prof. Jordi Sort, Barcelona, E
2013 Prof. Michel Perez, Lyon, F
2011 Olivier Guillon, Darmstadt, D
2009 Prof. Ludger Weber, EPFL Lausanne, CH
2007 Prof. João F. Mano, Braga, PT
2005 Prof. Britta Nestler, Karlsruhe, D
2003 Dr. Aldo Boccaccini, London, UK
2001 Prof. Dierk Raabe, Düsseldorf, D
1999 Prof. Philip J. Withers, Manchester, UK
1997 Dr. Jürgen Eckert, Dresden, D
1995 Prof. Yves Bréchet, Grenoble, F


The Medal is presented at the biennial EUROMAT Conference, which is held in odd numbered years.

All nominees shall have distinguished themselves through a significant contribution to a field of Materials Science and Engineering.

Candidates for the award may be proposed by the

  • Member Societies of FEMS,
  • Executive Committee of FEMS,
  • Award Selection Committee of FEMS.

The FEMS Secretariat will publish a call for proposals a year before the next EUROMAT Conference.

Nominations must be submitted to the FEMS Secretariat. Nominees under the age of 40 at the time of proposal are eligible for consideration for three consecutive years. The nomination package should contain a CV and a list of publications (refereed/ non-refereed/ proceedings), preferably accompanied by a list of independent citations, and a list of invited lectures. Letters of support from two personalities of the field of MSE, familiar with the candidate’s achievements should be included with the nomination. A proposed citation of not more than twenty words should be submitted with the nomination. A nominee should preferably (but not exclusively) have European nationality or have done much of his/her research work at a European university or institute.

Responsibility for the selection of the recipient rests with the Award Selection Committee. The ASC will review nominations and propose one candidate to the Executive Committee (EC) not later than 6 months prior to the presentation of the award.

The recipient must be present at the awards event for appropriate recognition. The recipient will give a lecture on his research at the EUROMAT Conference and publish a corresponding article in a European Materials Science Journal.

Awards Selection Committee

Both the chairman and the two other members of the Awards Selection Committee are appointed by the FEMS Executive Committee for a period of up to four years.

Documents for download: