FEMS Materials Science & Technology Prize

For outstanding contribution to the field of Materials Science and Engineering at an early career stage*.

The award is presented to an active materials scientist or engineer, member of a FEMS Member Society at an early career stage*, for outstanding contribution to Materials Science and Engineering.
Successful nominees should have conducted the majority of their research work in a European-based university, institute or company.
The winner is expected to give a plenary lecture at the next FEMS EUROMAT conference and to publish in the European Journal of Materials.


Nominations are accepted from FEMS Member Societies only and must include the following:
- Citation (100 words max)
- Two letters of recommendation (at least one outside the nominee's organisation)
- Nominee's CV
- Nominee's list of publications (refereed/non-refereed/proceedings
_ Nominee's list of independent citations (if applicable)
- Nominee's list of invited lectures


Nominations are open to FEMS Member Society members only.

Judging Panel

Nominations for the award are judged by the FEMS Awards Selection Committee and ratified by the FEMS Board.


Available on odd years only.


The winner will receive a certificate and cash prize from Taylor & Francis, a fee waiver to attend FEMS EUROMAT and will also be featured in an interview on the FEMS website.

*FEMS defines 'early career' as someone who on the year the award is presented is:
- within 10 years since the start of first (self)employment in a materials role (excluding apprenticeships or training schemes)
- within 6 years of completing their PhD in a materials subject.

FEMS Awards - Past recipients