FEMS Lecturer Awards for Excellence in MSE - Past winners

FEMS Lecturers 2016-2017

Prof. Jonathan Cormier, ISAE-ENSMA, Chasseneuil, France

Jonathan Cormier, associate professor at ISAE-ENSMA (Futuroscope-Chasseneuil, France) since 2007, has an aeronautical engineering degree from ISAE-ENSMA, with specialization in mechanics of materials. He obtained his PhD degree in 2006 from the University of Poitiers on the non-isothermal creep behavior of a Ni-based single crystal superalloy for turboshaft-engine for helicopter applications.
His main area of research focuses on high temperature materials, especially Ni-based superalloys and their coatings, with a special emphasis on the impact of microstructure evolutions on their mechanical behavior and durability. He has both an experimental and constitutive modeling research activity.
Jonathan has published 92 articles since 2005, 60 of them in internationally peer-reviewed journals. He won the Jean Rist Medal in 2015 from SF2M (French Society of Metals and Materials) and the best paper awards at the Eurosuperalloys 2014 (Giens, France) and Superalloys 2016 (Seven Springs, PA, USA) conferences. Since September 2016 he is editor of the Metallurgical and Materials Transactions A journal.
His award lecture can be downloaded here

Dr. David Maestre Varea, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

David Maestre Varea is an Associate Professor at the Materials Physics Department, Universidad Complutense de Madrid. He is a member of the Physics of Electronic Nanomaterials Group (FINE), a research group focused on the study of semiconductor and electronic nanostructures with the aim to investigate their structure, morphology and physical properties.
David attained his PhD from the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in 2007 and worked as post-doc at the Paul Cézanne-Aix Marseille III Université (Marseille, France) and at the Christian Albrechts Universität (Kiel, Germany) where he got insights in areas of research related to photovoltaics and electronic microscopy.
Recently he has focused on the fabrication and characterization of semiconducting oxide micro- and nanostructures based on SnO2, TiO2 and In2O3. He has published more than 50 manuscripts and 2 chapters of books and invented 4 patents, two of them finalists at the Emerging Technologies Competition, Royal Society of Chemistry 2015. He received the Fonda Fasella Award 2011.
His award lecture can be downloaded here

FEMS Lecturers 2014-2015

Read more
Christian Greiner
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Institute for Applied Materials, Kaiserstrasse 12, Karlsruhe, Germany
Henry Proudhon
Centre des Matériaux, Mines ParisTech, CNRS UMR 7633, Evry France

FEMS Lecturers 2012-2013

Read more
Kislon Voïtchovsky
The Supramolecular Nano-Materials and Interfaces Laboratory SuNMIL, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne
Vincenzo Palermo
Nanochemistry Laboratory, CNR-Institute for Organic Synthesis and Photoreactivity – ISOF, Bologna, Italy

FEMS Lecturers 2010-2011

Read more
Dr Joanna Michalska
Univ. of Technology Katowice, Poland
Dr Xavier Sauvage
Université de Rouen, France

FEMS Lecturers 2009

Read more
Lyubov Belova
Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
Carlo Mapelli
Department of Mechanics, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Other FEMS Lecturers

Read more
Dr Christine Blanc
ENSIACET, Toulouse, France
Dr Søren Fæster Nielsen
Risø National Laboratory, Denmark 
Dr Paul Michael Weaver
University of Bristol, UK
Dr Paul A. Midgley
University of Cambridge, UK
Dr Benoit Devincre
Laboratoire d’Etude des Microstructures, CNRS-ONERA, Chatillon Cedex, France
Dr Aránzazu del Campo
Max-Planck-Institut für Metallforschung, Stuttgart, Germany