FEMS Masters Thesis Award


Entries   for the 2022 Masters Thesis Award are now closed

In 2018 FEMS created a new European wide masters competition to showcase the best masters students from across Europe. The FEMS Masters Thesis award is intended to recognize the best Masters Thesis on Materials Science and Engineering, presented in any Academic Institution from the country of any FEMS member Society. FEMS Member Societies may nominate one candidate per year.
The 2023 FEMS Masters Thesis final will take place during FEMS EUROMAT in Frankfurt, Germany (3-7 September).
Submissions should be sent to secretary@fems.org not later than 1 May 2023.


To be eligible, the Masters Thesis should have been obtained up to a maximum of two academic years before the FEMS final takes place. For the 2023 Edition, eligible entrants must have obtained their degree in 2021 and 2022).


Each FEMS Member Society taking part in the competition organises their own local heat and the winner from each local/national event goes forward to the European Final. The Member Society covers the travel and subsistence costs for their candidate.
The nomination must be accompanied by a citation listing the nominee's major thesis achievements, extended summary (maximum two pages) of the Thesis, a letter of support and the entrant's CV.

Criteria & Penalties

To ensure all entrants compete under the same circumstances, the same judging criteria and penalties used at the 2023 final must be used at the institutional heats and national finals.:
- Abstract (10 marks)
- Presentation (20 marks)
- Materials science content (40 marks)
- Timing of presentation [marks will be deducted for each minute the presentation over/underruns 10 minutes] (10 marks)
- Handling of questions from the judges (15 marks)
-Peer voting (5 marks)

FEMS Masters Thesis Award Final

At the Final, candidates will give a 10 minute presentation on their Master Thesis using PowerPoint, followed by a short Q&A session of questions posed by members of the judging panel.
The panel will score each candidate and to decide the overall winner who will be announced later in the conference during the awards ceremony.

FEMS Masters Thesis Award - Past Winners